Dharma Talks

 Bodhidharma: On Mind-Watching


XIII. What Are the Five Incenses?

Also, the burning of incense does not mean the ordinary form of incense, but the formless-doing or righteous dharma of incense.

It represents prevailing over stenches, eliminating the darkened, evil karmas, and, finally, burning them away.

There are five kinds of righteous truth incenses;

First is the incense of the precept; to nullify all sins and to practice all the good.

Second is the incense of the unmovable serenity; to have faith in the righteous mind without retreating.

Third is the incense of limitless wisdom; to watch the mind alertly from inside and outside of the body and mind.

Fourth is the incense of complete liberation; to release all entanglements of unenlightened darkness. Fifth is the incense of the self-perceiving eye of complete libearation; to always feel and watch clearly, completely of obstacles.

These five incenses are the highest incenses, which cannot be compared with any from the ordinary world.

Even in Buddha's time, he said:

Burn the most valuable incenses with the wisdom-fire and offer to each and Buddha from the ten directions.

People today are so ignorant, they do not understand the true meaning of the incenses. They only try to use outside fire and different forms of material composition of incense for fortune-seeking which is impossible.

XIV. How to Scatter the Flowers?

Copyright(c) 1998 DIBO All rights reserved.